TAKE THE FAITH ROAD! by GENE MCGUIRE APRIL 30, 2012

Posted: April 30, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

 “And do not be conformed to the world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.” (Romans 12:2)

 
COMMENT: The other day I looked at the”American Scene” in the Washington Times Newspaper. Just for the fun of it, I decided to find out the ratio between good and bad news. Out of 23 different articles, only 9 were positive, the rest depicted crimes, natural disasters and terrorism. I had a relative in Detroit who had been nicknamed “411” (Information). She was “addicted” to TV news. During the day she listened to every newscast she could and even went to bed with that one-eyed monster on, fearing that she might miss some “important” happening. I am sorry to say that she was a very fearful person; since September IIth she wouldn’t fly in planes and the fear of being the recipient of “road rage” curtailed her driving. Our world continually bombards us with fearful images. As Christians, it is imperative that we renew our minds with God’s Word and try to minimize our exposure to the anxiety-provoking rhetoric of the world. (Well, some of you may be taunting me with: “Gene, you mention a lot about things from the Newspapers in the daily “Thoughts”. Aren’t you being a little hypocritical?”) Yes, I do subscribe to the “Post” and the “Times”, but I am very selective about what I ponder. Just as faith is the evidence of things hoped for, fear is the evidence of things dreaded. What was that which Job said? “That which I have feared has come upon me. And what I dreaded has happened to me.” (Job 3:25)
SCRIPTURE STUDY: Joshua 1:9, 2 Timothy 1:7 and 1 John 4:18
WISE SAYING: WITH THE WORD OF GOD YOU MIND’S RENEWED, WITH THE WORDS OF THE WORLD IT IS SUBDUED. (gene mcguire)

Leave a comment